Day 10 (21 Jan) – Who is Wendy?

you've got to keep watch as you do come across debris
you’ve got to keep watch as you do come across debris

Who came up with the name Wendy for our windseeker? Everytime the name is mentioned, I can’t help but draw a conscious association to the Wendy(s) in my circle.

So anyway, the wind decided to go on a break which led to the issue where our Yankee was too heavy to draw any power from periodic breezes. A flat boat, nice hot sun, sounds like a great time to relax! BUT (big BUT) Instead of sitting back and getting a tan in the sun (we are still racing by the way). “Upper Management(for the purpose of my blog I will abbreviate it to “UM”) made the call to unravel and hoist the windseeker “Wendy” before dropping the Yankee. More work for us.

Dealing with Wendy is physically kind; it is a really light sail (easy to lift), has a good area and can only be used at 8knots of wind or less. In really light wind conditions, it is better to have Wendy filled to create wind “lift” than a Yankee sail making luffing noises, which is really annoying after a while.

Onto other deck matters! 
If you observe the trend in previous posts, you can tell that we can never just sit around and enjoy the moment; following the wake of the wind dying down, UM decided we should clean the boat. Floorboards up, scrubbed, and no miracle that Gaurav and I were below deck again. And yes, I’m counting.

BUT! Thanks to the clean-up, I found the head torch I lost on Day 3!! Now I will be less reluctant to check the sail trims in the dark. I really couldn’t do much with a small red torch the past week. (or so I liked to tell myself).

Till the next day, KC out
cleaning way too many bilges

ahh. the anti-bacterial spray.
ahh. the anti-bacterial spray. our “companion” in cleaning the bilges
testing out my new diving gloves. worked out well a keeping my hands warm
testing out my new diving gloves. worked out well a keeping my hands warm
Leave a Reply

