New gadget on the block

I am stoked to get my hands on a rugged waterproof (submersible) camera for this trip, courtesy of Nikon Singapore.

DSCN2736
Decided to make a trip to the pool to test my new toy. I am impressed by the quality of the images. What was supposed to be a quick 5 minute test became a 30 minute session as I got carried away with the AW110.

Having done some product “research” online, I narrowed it down to the Nikon COOLPIX AW110 and Nikon 1 AW1. The Nikon 1 AW1 looked really cool, the world’s first interchangeable lens camera that is also waterproof and shockproof (2metres)! Seriously if there wasn’t the risk of being knocked around by waves, I will definitely get one for future dive and boat trips.

Giving it some thought and looking at the harsh conditions on board the clipper yachts as they travelled half-way across the world with the likelihood of mother nature having her “time of the month”, I ventured for the slightly cautious (and in my case, practical) option. The COOLPIX AW110 is a point-and-shoot camera that is also waterproof and shockproof but minus the interchangeable lens that the 1 AW1 has. With that in mind, I intend to keep the camera on me whenever I am on deck and would therefore need something that is not only compact and pocket-friendly but easily managed single-handedly. With all those considerations, the COOLPIX AW110 stood out as the better option for me.

To be honest, with the high participation costs involved in this race I was almost convinced to use a mobile phone to be my photography tool (yes, it is stupid I know). By a leap of faith and after a couple of conversations with Nikon Singapore, they offered to loan me their orange COOLPIX AW110 for my trip from Brissie to California. By doing so, I am now better equipped to go picture crazy.
So guys, brace yourselves and keep your eyes peeled for the streams of photos I will share as the race progresses with me on board!

Thank God and thank Nikon Singapore!

Raindrops in the pool
DSCN2734IMG_0567

One thought on “New gadget on the block”

Leave a Reply

